If you enjoy eating out and trying new restaurants, you'll find a lot of interesting information in this blog. My name is Patsy Rogers and my husband and I love going to different restaurants and eating a variety of foods. Every Saturday we eat at a different restaurant and many times we travel several miles to try a new place. We do a lot of research to find the best eating establishments and then we make plans to visit that location. In this blog, you'll learn how to find the best restaurants in your area, how to make smart menu selections and the proper etiquette for eating out. You'll also learn about the many different kinds of cuisine from around the world. I hope that you enjoy reading all about restaurants and that this blog helps to enhance your dining experience.
A traditional pizza loaded with cheese is not an allergy-friendly food. Cow's milk and wheat are two of the most common food allergens, and some people also have a negative reaction to tomato sauce and shrimp. Luckily, many restaurants understand that customers experience allergies, intolerance, and sensitivities to certain ingredients. Some restaurants have a dedicated allergy-friendly menu and kitchen area, while others are happy to honor special requests regarding food preparation. Here are some tips to help you order a delicious meal from a family pizza restaurant if you have to avoid certain foods.
Swap the Sauce
You don't have to give up pizza if you have a tomato allergy or sensitivity. Many pizza restaurants offer different sauce choices, such as olive oil and white cream sauce. If the restaurant sells wings or salads, you can ask the employees to replace your tomato sauce with ranch, hot sauce, barbecue sauce, or balsamic vinegar. You can also order a pizza without any sauce, but keep in mind that it may taste more like a cheese-covered garlic bread than a traditional pizza.
Ask About Gluten-Free Crust
Some restaurants carry gluten-free crusts. If yours doesn't, consider requesting one of the following items:
You might not see the suggestions above listed on the restaurant's menu, but politely ask for them anyway. The restaurant might accommodate your request.
Hold the Cheese
It's possible to make a pizza without cheese, so order a cheese-free pizza if you have a dairy allergy. Make sure to ask whether any other ingredients, such as a creamy tomato sauce, contain milk. If you have an allergy to cow's milk but not goat's milk, ask if the restaurant offers goat cheese.
Some restaurants offer vegan cheese. Vegan cheese should not contain any dairy products, so it's probably safe to consume it on your pizza.
Request Glove Changes
Don't be embarrassed to ask if the employees can switch their gloves before assembling your made-to-order pizza. This helps prevent cross-contamination with allergens during the pizza prep process.
A food allergy or sensitivity doesn't have to keep you from enjoying your favorite pizza restaurant. Try the tips above when you place your order, and talk to the manager or owner if you have any concerns about consuming the restaurant's food.Share